Book Tour! And Review: Sunday Best by Ann Lineberger

How much do you REALLY know about your neighbors? The young spiritual renters down the street? The adorable senior couple that’s lived next door for decades? The weird single dude across the street?

What if you found out that a large part of your town was involved in an underground sex culture and half the people you know were dirty, naughty sex addicts? I personally, think it would be quite amusing. All you need is a grisly, bizarre murder where the victim has his penis sliced off and ALL the secrets come out!

Walter Bloom has been murdered. The way his body is mutilated and displayed suggests something dark and freakish is going on. The publishing executive is known for his dirty ways and infatuation with sex and secret fetish clubs – it’s no mystery there – but his brother Charles is determined to find his killer.

He enlists 4 of his journalist employees, Darren and Jackie – to pose as swingers and infiltrate some clubs for answers, and local sisters Lauren and Brooke, along with local authorities – an investigation ensues.

Perverted and twisted secrets start to emerge about not only Walter, but several people they know from town, including Lauren and Brooke’s own mother – an obnoxious clairvoyant and overall terrible parent, her associate, and several members of the alternative church they’ve founded.

I found this to be a really fun, and strange, murder mystery. Some parts I cringed with curiosity, others I literally laughed out loud. A bit of Big Little Lies, mixed with an Agatha Christie style murder investigation – oh and throw in some Fifty Shades – and you’ve got a fantastic book on your hands.

Sunday Best was chock full of ridiculous escapades, colorful characters and a really compelling storyline.

(*sidenotealthough the subject matter suggest a lot of sexcapades, I assure this one is #SFW (safe for work!) – for the most part!!)

You can get this fantastically kinky mystery here!

 

  • Paperback: 363 pages
  • Publisher: Independently published (September 16, 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1720285144
  • ISBN-13: 978-1720285144

 

Screen Shot 2019-03-19 at 10.42.01 AM

 


 

About The Book

Release Date : September 21, 2018

What happens when journalists go undercover to investigate a sex club linked to the murder of their employer, and they discover their mother may have ties to it? SUNDAY BEST (September 21, 2018), an engaging comic mystery by Ann Lineberger, explores the lengths people will go to indulge their fantasies while preserving their secrets.
When publishing mogul Walter Bloom is grotesquely murdered in the postcard-perfect Connecticut town of Longshore, his brother and business partner, Charles, is determined to discover who is responsible. Walter had a public history of sexual harassment and a private involvement with sex clubs. Charles is convinced Walter’s murder is related. He enlists the help of his employees—sisters Lauren Mark and Brooke Edwards, Jackie Hunt, and Darren Nottingham—to infiltrate the Swingers’ groups Walter favored. Together they discover a comically warped and perverse subculture that is eerily connected to the alternative Unify church that Lauren and Brooke’s clairvoyant mother founded in their youth.
Laced with humor and biting social commentary, SUNDAY BEST is an inventive and absorbing novel that offers a satirical glance into the world of sex clubs and alternative religions as a study of the selling of hope in contemporary America.
Fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects will find an intriguing mystery that combines female-driven detective work, tantalizing behind closed-door reveals, and the exploration of female aggression uniquely balanced by a cast of endearingly flawed characters and mystical escapades and near misses that will resonate with fans of Daryl Gregory’s Spoonbenders.

 


About The Author

Ann Lineberger is the author of The Adjustments (Full Fathom Five Digital, 2016) and New Spaces, Old World Charm (McGraw-Hill, 2004). Ann has worked as a reporter, editor, and writer for numerous publications, including Fortune, Entertainment Weekly, Cottages & Gardens, and Home Remodeling. She earned a master’s degree in journalism and mass communication from New York University and an associate’s degree from the New York School of Interior Design. Her independent studies program undergraduate degree is from Providence College. She enjoys spending time with her family, yoga, running, photography, and escaping to Maine in the summers. In addition to writing, Ann is an interior designer and home stager. She lives in Connecticut with her husband, two daughters, and two very silly dogs.

 

One thought on “Book Tour! And Review: Sunday Best by Ann Lineberger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s