Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

5 STAR THRILLER ALERT!

I am on a thriller ROLL this month! This dark and amazingly disturbing story is seriously creeptastic from start to finish. Ominous doesn’t even being to describe the premise of the story, and having twins in my family bumped up the sinister factor for me even more! And it’s a debut! #mindblown I’ll be watching out from now on for everything that comes out from Melanie Golding!

THIS is what scary movies are made of – and WILL be soon!

Lauren is so, so tired. The birth of her twins was traumatic and exhausting and her husband has not been much help getting the rest she needs. But she knows what she saw that night in the hospital.

She knows the haunting figure that visited her and tried to steal her babies was real. But no one believes her. Not her husband, or the police, or her doctors – they all think she’s just really, really tired.

And then they really do disappear. And Lauren knows what she must do. She must do the most unimaginable thing to bring her babies back. But if she is wrong, she risks everything – including their lives.

It’s like your worst nightmare of a dark dreadful fairy tale come true. I felt so uneasy and unnerved reading this story and loved every single minute of it. The best kind of thriller makes you feel unsettled the entire time – and this book was eerie in the best kind of way.

Get it this Tuesday here! April 30th! Thank you to @crookedlanebooks and @melaniegoldingauthor for a very sleepless night of nonstop reading!

 

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Crooked Lane Books (April 30, 2019)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1683319974
  • ISBN-13: 978-1683319979

 

 

Screen Shot 2019-04-29 at 2.16.17 PM

 


 

About the book:

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

An April 2019 Library Reads Pick!

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy’s The Perfect Mother.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some of our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

 


 

About the author:

goldingMelanie Golding has been employed in many occupations including farm hand, factory worker, childminder and music teacher. Throughout all this, because and in spite of it, there was always the writing. Her first novel, Little Darlings, was published by HQ in the UK in May 2019, and by HarperCollins Canada and Crooked Lane Books US. Little Darlings has been optioned for screen by Free Range Films, the team behind the adaptation of My Cousin Rachel.

5 thoughts on “Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s