Her Daughter’s Mother by Daniela Petrova

The intriguing synopsis of this suspenseful read was definitely one that hooked me in right away!

Combined with meeting the absolutely love Daniela Petrova at a Book Expo party this Spring, I knew I had to read this. And I couldn’t have been more pleased with what transpired behind this beautiful cover!

We meet Lana and Tyler, who have been trying to conceive a child for years. And after several rounds of IVF, they decide to try one last time with an egg donor.

Lana is from Bulgaria and she wishes to find a donor from her native country. When Tyler places an ad for an “anonymous” Bulgarian egg donor – against Lana’s wishes – and finds a match, the results turn out to be any BUT anonymous.

Screen Shot 2019-09-13 at 4.20.12 PM

It’s something I read at a pace that was intense and hurried. The bizarre situation that Lana finds herself in after Katya, the mysterious egg donor, suddenly disappears, is just the beginning of an engrossing story of 3 people in a tense and twisted dance of betrayal.

A complex and elaborate mystery enveloped in obsession, delusions and an overabundance of emotions.

A fantastic debut! Huge congrats to Daniela!

Huge thanks to Suzy Approved Book Tours for having me on this amazing tour!

You can get a copy of Her Daughter’s Mother here!

 

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons; 1st edition (June 18, 2019)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0525539972
  • ISBN-13: 978-0525539971

 

 


About the Book:

71Ve130VagLShe befriended the one woman she was never supposed to meet. Now she’s the key suspect in her disappearance. For fans of The Perfect Mother and The Wife Between Us comes a gripping psychological suspense debut about two strangers, one incredible connection, and the steep price of obsession.

Lana Stone has never considered herself a stalker–until the night she impulsively follows a familiar face through the streets of New York’s Upper West Side. Her target? The “anonymous” egg donor she’d selected through an agency, the one who’s making motherhood possible for her. Hungry to learn more about her, Lana plans only to watch her from a distance. But when circumstances bring them face-to-face, an unexpected friendship is born.

Katya, a student at Columbia, is the yin to Lana’s yang, an impulsive free spirit who lives life at the edge. And for pragmatic Lana, she’s a breath of fresh air and a welcome distraction from her painful breakup with her baby’s father. Then, just as suddenly as Katya entered Lana’s life, she disappears–and Lana might have been the last person to see her before she went missing. Determined to find out what became of the woman to whom she owes so much, Lana digs into Katya’s past, even as the police grow suspicious of her motives. But she’s unprepared for the secrets she unearths, and their power to change everything she thought she knew about those she loves best…


About the Author:

A1BBKIq2FxL._SY200_Daniela Petrova is a recipient of an Artist Fellowship in Writing from the Massachusetts Cultural Council and a scholarship for the Tin House Summer Workshop. Her short stories, poems and essays have been published in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Salon, and Marie Claire, among many others. Born and raised in Sofia, Bulgaria, Petrova currently lives in New York City. HER DAUGHTER’S MOTHER is her first novel.


 

10 thoughts on “Her Daughter’s Mother by Daniela Petrova

  1. Wow I had no idea thats what this book was about, but I keep seeing it everywhere! You know whats really interesting… I hated The Friend Zone because of how it portrayed infertility, an important topic that you don’t see in pop culture about often. Since then, I’ve read 2 books about IVF and now this one is everywhere too! I’m happy to see this topic written about more, and I hope they have better resolutions (IN MY OPINION) than The Friend Zone!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read The Friend Zone, but I have heard that same exact response to it from so many people! it makes me not want to read it. I can’t imagine how people who have gone through IVF would feel about it. This one doesn’t delve too much into the specifics of it – so I don’t think it would feel too personal to those close to the subject, BUT I’m not in their shoes so I don’t really know! It definitely focused more on the missing egg donor and lies and secrets!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve never been there either, so take my opinion with a grain of salt! But I like that it’s not a taboo topic. And like even better when it’s more about the secrets and lies 😍 I have to check this one out!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s