Dead to Her by Sarah Pinborough

Who is your favorite “love to hate” book character?!

To be honest – I disliked just about every character in Dead to Her.

These old money boys and real housewife-ish trophy wives were horrid as far as human beings go. But sometimes, it’s fun to hate!

I loved Sarah’s last book Cross Her Heart, so I was really excited for this one! We follow the “second wives club” – both Marcie and Keisha are wife number two of their wealthy Southern elite husbands.

And as stinking-rich Southern charm goes, they definitely have to earn their places in society, while trying to prove themselves to the other coifed and uppity ladies who lunch, and avoiding haunting ex-wives – both dead and alive.

“Within minutes of opening Dead to Her you will be unsettled, charmed, riled, empowered, and aroused.  Pinborough at the height of her powers.” (Josh Malerman, bestselling author of Bird Box)

When Marcie starts to question her husbands secrets and wandering eye – which drifts exclusively towards Keisha – this is where things start to get a whole lotta crazy.

It was a very unique and unusual storyline – which I definitely appreciate for it’s entertainment factor. But I found it a bit slow in the middle and was definitely confused at times (who ARE all these snooty people?!)

And of course, like all good upper class drama, Marcie and Keisha both have their own secrets which slowly emerge – which we trudge through in a slow middle-of-the-book. But what follows is certainly some fun erratic behavior, including a bit of voodoo vibes, leading to a clever and puzzling reveal at the end!

“Illicit love affairs, [and] tension as stifling as the Georgia summer heat… With Dead to Her, Pinborough plants her flag as the master of seductively sinister suspense. This absorbing tale will satisfy and even surprise fans of Jennifer McMahon and Gillian Flynn.” (Booklist (starred review))

Although not my favorite of hers, I’ll definitely be checking out more backlist (Hello, I need you Behind Her Eyes!) and whatever comes next from this author. She definitely puts a refreshing, unique spin on thrillers, when a lot of them seem to be getting more formulaic and predictable.

Or maybe I’m just getting infinitely smarter.

Thank you so much to TLC Book Tours, William Morrow Books and Sarah Pinborough for my gifted copy of Dead to Her to read and review.

You can grab this one now!

Purchase Links: HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow (February 11, 2020)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062856820
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062856821

4A9526FB-2BB2-419D-8028-D077FF1C1E9A


About the Book:

Dead to Her coverFor fans of Liane Moriarty, Liv Constantine and Lisa Jewell, a twisty psychological thriller about a savvy second wife who will do almost anything to come out on top from the New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes.

Marriage can be murder…

SOMETHING OLD

Marcie’s affair with Jason Maddox catapulted her into the world of the elite.

Old money, old ties, old secrets. Marcie may have married into this world—

but she’ll never be part of it.

SOMETHING NEW

Then Jason’s boss brings back a new wife from his trip to London.

Young, attractive, reckless—nobody can take their eyes off Keisha.

Including Marcie’s husband.

SOMETHING YOU CAN NEVER, EVER UNDO…

Some people would kill for the life Marcie has—what will she do to keep it?

 


About the Author:

Sarah Pinborough APSarah Pinborough is the number one Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of the psychological thriller Behind Her Eyes, and more than twenty other novels and novellas, including The Death House and a young adult thriller, 13 Minutes. She has also written for the BBC. She lives in England.

Find out more about Sarah at her website, and connect with her on Twitter and Instagram.


 

 

7 thoughts on “Dead to Her by Sarah Pinborough

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s