Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything by Kristin Bair

👀 Peek a boo! ⁣👀

Oh, don’t mind my friend Agatha here. She’s not spying on you.⁣

Since she found her husband in the shed bonking the dog walker, she’s become a bit… unhinged?⁣

Getting sprayed by a skunk, the town interloper, and a not-so-friendly moms Facebook group is not helping her case.⁣

Her Shrinky Dink can’t change that she’s terrified of beans, and that the only thing that gets her through the day is Bear Grylls.⁣

Will Thelma and Louise, a state of the art drone, the Tush, and a snotty bowl of soup help?⁣

You’ll just have to read to find out!⁣

A quirky, nervous wreck of a New England mom is forced to face her many fears in this touching, irresistible novel from author Kristin Bair.

I think a lot of us are looking for light, fun, and entertaining reads the days. 

Look no further – Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything is a laugh-out-loud fothermuckingly fun book 😆 that is definitely worth peeking into!⁣

There were so many times I laughed out loud reading this book. Agatha may not be for everyone but she creeped right into my heart and settled in pretty close to my funny bone as well.

“Fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Elinor Oliphant Is Fine will love this clever romp.”

Publishers Weekly, starred review

She’s really just a human being that is hurting and lacking a bit in the courage department. She loves those close to her fiercely, including her two sons the most, and in turn, keeps everyone else at a very uncomfortable distance.

But she’s also insanely brave in other ways when she sets her mind to things. And I loved watching her find herself and climb out of her shell… and her “spy pants!” And a really fun surprise part about this book was all the animals – there are so many furry characters that I adored as well.

Give Agatha a try. I think you’ll like her.

👀 Tell me… what are YOU afraid of? ⁣👀

You can grab this one here!

  • Item Weight : 10.6 ounces
  • Paperback : 336 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 164385500X
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1643855004
  • Dimensions : 5.48 x 0.94 x 8.31 inches

About the Book:

Agatha Arch’s life shatters when she discovers her husband in their backyard shed, in flagrante delicto, giving the local dog walker some heavy petting. Suddenly, Agatha finds herself face to face with everything that frightens her…and that’s a loooooong list.

Agatha keeps those she loves close. Everyone else, she keeps as far away as possible. So she’s a mystery to nearly everyone in her New England town. To her husband, she’s a saucy, no-B.S. writer. To her Facebook Moms group, she’s a provocateur. To her neighbor, she’s a standoffish pain in the butt. To her sons, she’s chocolate pudding with marshmallows. And to her shrink, she’s a bundle of nerves on the brink of a cataclysmic implosion.

Defying her abundant assortment of anxieties, Agatha dons her “spy pants”–a pair of khakis whose many pockets she crams with binoculars, fishing line, scissors, flashlight, a Leatherman Super Tool 300 EOD, candy, and other espionage essentials–and sets out to spy on her husband and the dog walker. Along the way, she finds another intriguing target to follow: a mysterious young woman who’s panhandling on the busiest street in town.

It’s all a bit much for timorous Agatha. But with the help of her Bear Grylls bobblehead, a trio of goats, and a dog named Balderdash, Agatha may just find the courage to build a better life.


About the Author:

Kristin Bair is the author of the novels The Art of Floating and Thirsty, as well as essays about China, bears, adoption, off-the-plot expats, and more. Her work has appeared in numerous magazines and journals, including The Manifest-Station, The Gettysburg Review, Flyway: Journal of Writing and Environment, The Christian Science Monitor, Poets & Writers Magazine, Writer’s Digest, and other publications. As a writing instructor, her peripatetic nature has landed her in classrooms and conferences around the world. A native Pittsburgher, Kristin now lives north of Boston with her husband and two kiddos.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


2 thoughts on “Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything by Kristin Bair

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s