All Girls Blog Party! Recipe & Review

What is your favorite pie filling?⁣

Mine is Strawberry-Rhubarb! I ask for one every year in lieu of a birthday cake – it’s my favorite! But a class apple, is definitely a close second place! Yum!

I am so excited to be joining The Book Club CookBook and St. Martin’s Press for the All Girls Blog Party and to share this super yum, recipe with you – inspired by the book All Girls by Emily Layden!⁣

Incisive, astute…Layden succeeds at bringing the effects of an institutional cover-up into sharp relief. “

Publishers Weekly

The book follows 9 young women who navigate both ambitions and fear at a prestigious private school as a scandal emerges that the administration wants to tuck away and brush aside… and it’s such an interesting look at how things have changed for women, and how far we still have to go. ⁣

I loved how it gave you a small snippet of each girls experience (hence the tiny pies!) and of course apple is the fruit most associated with school (with a bit of ginger to balance tart and sweet!) all tied together with lattice tops to mimic the uniforms… or even a hashtag, as #metoo is a major theme in this story. ⁣

“Readers will find themselves thinking about the vividly and compassionately rendered characters long after their chapters end, and considering decisions they would make in the same situations. Give it to grown-up fans of Gossip Girl and readers of Curtis Sittenfeld and Emma Straub.”

Booklist

It’s an intriguing plot line and you’ll be transported back to your school days as you attend fall fest (hello apple pies!), prom, initiations, field trips, dorm life… all while allegations of sexual misconduct loom in the back of the girls minds as they try to find themselves amidst the chaos.⁣

An important, and timely read.

All Girls releases today! You can grab it here!

  • Publisher : St. Martin’s Press (February 16, 2021)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1250270898
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1250270894

The Recipe

All Girls Apple-Ginger Mini Pies⁣

Ingredients⁣
⁣1/2 cup light brown sugar⁣
2 tbsp flour⁣
1 tsp cinnamon⁣
1 tsp ginger (fresh minced)⁣
3 Granny Smith apples (peeled and diced)⁣
1 tbsp lemon juice⁣
2 – 9” prepared pie crusts or use your favorite pie crust recipe⁣
Egg wash (1 egg + 1 tbsp water)⁣
Sanding sugar, optional⁣

Instructions⁣
Preheat oven 425 degrees ⁣
Mix first three ingredients⁣
Toss apples with lemon and ginger⁣
Mix all together.⁣
Cut 4” circles of crust and place in bottom and up sides of muffin tin. ⁣
Fill with filling to top rim, and cover with 3” circle of pie crust.⁣
Pinch edges to seal (can lattice or cut holes to allow steam to escape)⁣
Brush top with egg wash and sprinkle with sanding sugar (optional)⁣
Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown and bubbly.⁣


Party Participants

The Book Blondie: Sweet and Spicy Nut Recipe

Bookapotamus: Apple Ginger Mini Pies

The Bookend Diner: Apple Cider Doughnuts

Culinary Adventures with Camilla: Just Fancied Up Pigs-in-a-Blanket

A Day in the Life on the Farm: College Bound Tuna Mac

Eliot’s Eats: Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich 

A Hat for Every Read: Spinach, Onion and Cheese Croissant Roll-ups

Kahakai Kitchen: “Lord of the Fries” Avocado Fries with Garlic-Sriracha Aioli 

Living My Best Book Life

My Novel Menagerie: Spinach and Artichoke Baked Mac and Cheese

The Book Club Cookbook: Apple Cider Doughnuts


About the Book

A keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young women as they navigate their ambitions and fears at a prestigious New England prep school, all pitched against the backdrop of a scandal the administration wants silenced.

But as the months unfold, and the school’s efforts to control the ensuing crisis fall short, these extraordinary girls are forced to discover their voices, and their power. 

A tender and unflinching portrait of modern adolescence told through the shifting perspectives of an unforgettable cast of female students, Emily Layden’s All Girls explores what it means to grow up in a place that promises you the world––when the world still isn’t yours for the taking.

You grow to love a place… and then you grow up.


About Emily

Emily Layden is a graduate of Stanford University. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, Marie Claire, The Billfold, and Runner’s World. ALL GIRLS is her first novel.

Find her at emilylayden.com or on Instagram


2 thoughts on “All Girls Blog Party! Recipe & Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s