The Charm Offensive by Alison Cochrun

🎬🤴🏼❤️⁣

Do you have a favorite reality TV show?⁣

Drama makes me so anxious 😬 so I don’t really watch it – but I DO have a new favorite book!⁣

I loved the show UnReal that was on Lifetime a few years ago. It showed how these shows are produced behind-the- scenes and all the in-and -outs of production, casting, “scripting”, and how the drama behind the curtains might just be way more crazy than what we even see on TV!

“Cochrun’s polished, smart, and delightful debut romance delivers all the quintessential feel-good moments of a great romcom… In between the meet-cute, quippy banter, and red-hot sexual chemistry, Cochrun also offers readers a thoughtful and caring exploration of gay love and the mental health struggles people with social anxiety and depression deal with every day.” Booklist (starred review)

When awkward tech genius Charlie needs to revamp his public image, he becomes the “prince” on the hit dating show Ever After. But as his producer Dev tries to coach him to be more romantic and likable on TV… they start to find each other much more likable than any of the female contestants. 🥰⁣

THIS BOOK. It’s all of the fun behind-the-scenes scripted faux drama of a Bachelor-type dating show, with an unexpected and delightfully, swoony romance.

There are so many fantastic conversations about mental health and an incredible amount of diverse, queer representation. I loved how inclusive the characters were and the storyline was and how important topics were interwoven throughout – without being heavy handed or forceful. Alison made discussions natural and real, when so much going on in the story wasn’t!

It’s a wonderful message that loving yourself above everything else, may be the greatest happily ever after there is.⁣

“Readers seeking romance that prioritizes inclusive explorations of sexual identity and mental illness will treasure this.” Publishers Weekly


This was such an entertaining and heartwarming read with an adorably hopeful love story that is perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue and One to Watch!⁣

Thanks to @atriabooks and @AlisonCochrun for the gifted book and having me on The Charm Offensive blog tour – and Happy Pub Day!! (tomorrow! Sept 7, 2021)🎉⁣

🎬🤴🏼❤️⁣

#TheCharmOffensive #LGBTQReads

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Atria Books (September 7, 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1982170719
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1982170714
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 9.8 ounces

About the Book:

In this witty and heartwarming romantic comedy—reminiscent of Red, White & Royal Blue and One to Watch—an awkward tech wunderkind on a reality dating show goes off-script when sparks fly with his producer.

Dev Deshpande has always believed in fairy tales. So it’s no wonder then that he’s spent his career crafting them on the long-running reality dating show Ever After. As the most successful producer in the franchise’s history, Dev always scripts the perfect love story for his contestants, even as his own love life crashes and burns. But then the show casts disgraced tech wunderkind Charlie Winshaw as its star.

Charlie is far from the romantic Prince Charming Ever After expects. He doesn’t believe in true love, and only agreed to the show as a last-ditch effort to rehabilitate his image. In front of the cameras, he’s a stiff, anxious mess with no idea how to date twenty women on national television. Behind the scenes, he’s cold, awkward, and emotionally closed-off.

As Dev fights to get Charlie to connect with the contestants on a whirlwind, worldwide tour, they begin to open up to each other, and Charlie realizes he has better chemistry with Dev than with any of his female co-stars. But even reality TV has a script, and in order to find to happily ever after, they’ll have to reconsider whose love story gets told.



About the Author:

Alison Cochrun is a high school English teacher living outside Portland, Oregon. When she’s not reading and writing queer love stories, you can find her torturing teenagers with Shakespeare, crafting perfect travel itineraries, hate-watching reality dating shows, and searching for the best happy hour nachos. You can find her on Instagram or at her website www.alisoncochrun.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s