Review: Deepest Blue by Mindy Tarquini

Deepest Blue was a definite departure from what I typically read, but as soon as I heard the description of the story, I knew I HAD to read it. The story is loosely based on Italian folklore of a magical world – Panduri – which is only visible at twilight. This enchanted city is described so beautifully, it makes me think of an Avatar type place – glowing plants and trees, and a loving connection with nature and all it provides.

Matteo is the son of Panduri’s duca, and he is second in line, which means he is destined by the stars to be a Protector (all the residents of Panduris’ lives are calcuated at birth by their star charts). Matteo is excited about his job, his future, and a move to the border that separates ‘inside’ and ‘outside’ – but his older brother defies destiny and takes his place, without any consideration for the world’s future. Antonio is meant to be next in line as Panduri’s duca, and with this move, he’s thrown off the entire course of Panduri. Will they be able to restore harmony to Panduri before it’s too late?

There’s also a pretty significant war going on between ‘inside’ and ‘outside’ – the juxtaposition of these worlds is so clever – I think of us, present day, as ‘outsiders” with talk of electricity, fences, and “pee vee cee” piping for water. (a lot of lol’s in this book too!) Us outsiders like things, and crave value, and follow science, while those of Panduri treasure the smell of the flowers, the sound of the wind and the feel of the rain. Simple, pure joy. It’s so refreshing- my favorite:

“They only want the gold, have no interest in the rainbows?”

“I don’t understand. What do they use when they want to shine a little extra happiness on a newborn?”

“They use nothing.”

There’s a whole lot of everything in this book – death, magic, sex, laughter, music, folklore – it’s a barrage of the senses, and a uniquely creative lyrical world that leaves you with an alluring sense of wonder and hope. You definitely get a bit of Neil Gaiman mysticism as well as Paulo Coehlo lyricism.

A wonderful, original story that’s awoken a part of my imagination I hope to visit again soon! Thank you to BookSparks, SparkPress and Mindy Tarquini for the chance to read and review this magical story!

You can get it here TODAY!! On Amazon —> Deepest Blue by Mindy Tarquini

 

  • Paperback: 324 pages
  • Publisher: SparkPress (September 25, 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9781943006694
  • ISBN-13: 978-1943006694

 

Screen Shot 2018-09-25 at 9.58.46 AM

 

About Deepest Blue

Award-winning author, Mindy Tarquini, has a new book releasing on Sept 25th called Deepest Blue, and I wanted to touch base with you to see if you might consider it.

It is a mythical and magical realism story with a family saga weaved in.

FOR FANS OF PAULO COELHO and NEIL GAIMAN:

Deepest Blue (publishing 9/25/18 by SparkPress) by award-winning author Mindy Tarquini

Brigadoon meets Pippin to recount a quirky tale of grief steeped deep in Italian folklore. A tale that reminds the reader—remember what helps, forget what hurts, give what remains permission to soar. In Panduri, an enchanted city seen only at twilight, everyone’s path is mapped, everyone’s destiny decided, their lives charted at birth and steered by an unwavering star. Everyone has his place, and Matteo, son of Panduri’s duca, is eager to take up his as Legendary Protector—at the border and out from under his father’s domineering thumb. Until Matteo’s older brother pulls rank and heads to the border in Matteo’s stead, leaving Panduri’s orbit in a spiral and Matteo’s course on a skid. Forced to follow an unexpected path, resentful and raw, Matteo is determined to rise, to pursue the one future Panduri’s star can never chart: a life of his own.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Deepest Blue by Mindy Tarquini

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s